What is the name of First Army Chief of Indian Army?

Field Marshal Kodandera Madappa Cariappa OBE (28 January 1899;– 15 May 1993) was the first Indian Commander -in- Chief (C-in-C) of the Indian Army.

Who was the army chief in 1948?

General KS Thimayya was not the Commander -in- Chief of the Indian Army in 1948. That position was held by a British armyman, Roy Butcher. It was only in 1949 that the position was first handed over to an Indian, KM Cariappa. Nehru clashed with Cariappa in 1951 over the army chief airing his views on political matters.

Who was chief of army staff in 1965?

The 1965 war was fought under the leadership of the then Chief of Army Staff, General JN Chaudhuri, and his counterpart Chief of Pakistani Army was General Muhammad Musa.

You might be interested:  Question: Who Was Adolf Hitler's Chief Of Staff?

Who was the first army chief of Pakistan in 1947?

By August 15, 1947, both India and Pakistan had operational control over their armed forces. General Sir Frank Messervy was appointed as the first Army Commander -in- Chief of the new Pakistan Army.

Who is the first Army general?

Chief of the Army Staff (1955–present)

No. Name Time in office
1 General Maharaj Shri Rajendrasinhji Jadeja, DSO (1899–1964) 43 days
2 General Satyawant Mallana Srinagesh (1903–1977) 1 year, 357 days
3 General Kodandera Subayya Thimayya, DSO (1906–1965) 4 years, 0 days
4 General Pran Nath Thapar (1906–1975) 1 year, 195 days


Who is current general of Indian Army?

Chiefs of Army Staff

Name Tenure
General Bikram Singh 01 June 2012 – 31 July 2014
General Dalbir Singh Suhag 31 July 2014 – 31 December 2016
General Bipin Rawat 31 December 2016 – 31 December 2019
General Manoj Mukund Naravane 31 December 2019 – Incumbent


Who is the chief of Indian Army 2021?

This is the latest accepted revision, reviewed on 19 June 2021. General Bipin Rawat, PVSM UYSM AVSM YSM SM VSM ADC (born 16 March 1958) is a four star general of the Indian Army. He is the first and current Chief of Defence Staff (CDS) of India.

Who is the head of all the three forces?

The heads of the three services of Indian Armed Forces are: Chief of Defence Staff — General Bipin Rawat. Chief of the Army Staff — General Manoj Mukund Naravane. Chief of the Naval Staff — Admiral Karambir Singh.

Who is Indian army chief 2020?

India got a new Army Chief on Tuesday as General Manoj Mukund Naravane took over as the Chief of Army Staff, succeeding General Bipin Rawat. Gen Rawat is superannuating today and he will take over as the country’s first Chief of Defence Staff tomorrow.

You might be interested:  Question: Who Would Be Trumps Chief Of Staff?

Has Pakistan ever won a war?

The country was designated as a major non-NATO ally by the United States in 2004, and has participated extensively in the American-led War on Terror following the 9/11 attacks. List of wars involving Pakistan.

Conflict First Balochistan Conflict (1948)
Pakistan and allies Pakistan
Opponents Kalat insurgents
Results Victory Defeat of the insurgents


Who won 1965 war?

Indo-Pakistani War of 1965

Date August – 23 September 1965
Result Stalemate (Both nations declared victory) Ceasefire through UNSC Resolution 211 No permanent territorial changes (see Tashkent Declaration) Return to the status quo ante bellum
Territorial changes No territorial changes

Who is Pakistan’s 5 star general?

Since Pakistan became a sovereign state, the five – star field marshal rank was only given in once to a Pakistani army general Ayub Khan who appointed himself as a field marshal in 1965 when he was also serving country’s president.

What is the salary of soldier in Pakistan Army?

PKR 68,001 The typical Pakistan Army Army Officer salary is ₨68,000. Army Officer salaries at Pakistan Army can range from ₨35,000 – ₨120,000.

Which country accepted Pakistan first?

After Pakistan gained its independence in August 1947, Iran was one of the first countries to recognize its sovereign status.

Who is the first C of Pakistan Army?

On 15 August General Frank Messervy became the first C-in-C of the Pakistan Army and General Ayub Khan was the first native Pakistani to hold the appointment.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *